The House that Kevin Built 2012 The Brighton Waste House

Process & Experimentation Micro Pavilions

Event Name Process & Experimentation Micro Pavilions
Start Date 16th Apr 2016
End Date 12th Jun 2016
Duration 58 days

This exhibition showcases the working through of designs, ideas and prototypes made by Masters of Architecture students in their first year of study on the Technology and Fabrication module at the University of Brighton.

Combining design, technology and current techniques of fabrication, the students worked in teams researching structural logics and material performance towards the creation of a Micro Pavilion for the De La Warr Pavilion. Offering secondary spaces and programmatic opportunities that could begin to expand on the De La Warr Pavilion’s current activities.

These structures had to be temporary and self-supporting as well as addressing the physical constraints of the site and its ever-changing environment.

There were four teams that took very unique stances to the brief and the context.

Team 1

Mountain Valley Channel: Through employing methods of folding sheet material, the team developed a pavilion based on a spatial and material modularity referenced from the De La Warr Pavilion. 

Team 2

Undulating Projection: Through investigating differential expansion of materials the team developed the idea in a structure by a mechanical means which led to a proposal of a responsive canopy to house temporal events. 

Team 3

Flat Curve Pavilion: Through a system of strategic cutting into sheet material with the cuts being opened by a variable strut, the team developed a simple yet effective structurally rigid surface.

Team 4

Time Based Aggregation with Membrane Structure: Based on an interest in how the sea salt has a corrosive affect on the De La Warr Pavilion, this team led an investigation into how to use salt as a key material in the development of their pavilion. Creating a structure in fabric and salt, aggregating and changing over time with the seasons.


Team 1: Bryin Lindoe, Evripidis Neokleous, Weijing Zhao, Kefan Yan

Team 2: Kosuke Ino, Louise Farries Fisher, Peter Roper, Christina Shimitra

Team 3: Karin Anderson, Oluwatomisin Oladeli-Olanrewaju, Athina Rigopoulou, Xiaoyu Yan

Team 4: Natalie Cheung, Annabelle Egbunike, Regina Kong


Jeffrey Turko, Omid Kamvari


Entry free of charge 

Opening times: Monday-Sunday, 10am-6pm 

View all our sponsors, partners and associates